(Clockwise from top left) Connor Crawford, Caitlin MacPherson, Trinity Montigny and Jackson Curtis. DOWN EAST FAMILY YMCA PHOTOS

YMCA names Teddy Saunders Award winners

ELLSWORTH — Four Ellsworth High School seniors have been selected as the Down East Family YMCA’s 2020 Teddy Saunders Award recipients.

Ellsworth’s Connor Crawford, Jackson Curtis, Trinity Montigny and Caitlin MacPherson were chosen Monday as recipients of the award. The award is given annually to athletes who display outstanding sportsmanship and citizenship in the community.

On the football field, Crawford was a three-time all-conference selection and 2019 Fitzpatrick Award semifinalist for Ellsworth/Sumner. He also played four years of varsity basketball for Ellsworth, which finished as the Class B North runner-up this season.

Curtis was a two-time All-Big East Conference first-team selection and career 1,000-point scorer for the Ellsworth boys’ basketball team, which he led in scoring in 2018-19 and 2019-20. Curtis was also a member of Ellsworth’s 2019 state title-winning team and a two-time first-teamer on the All-Penobscot Valley Conference baseball team on the baseball diamond.

Montigny, a 1,000-point scorer for the Ellsworth girls’ basketball team, led the Big East in scoring in both her junior and senior years and was named the conference’s Player of the Year this season. She was also a member of the Eagles’ 2018 state championship-winning cross-country team and a three-year starter for the softball team.

MacPherson, a cross-country teammate of Montigny’s, also excelled for Ellsworth in swimming and outdoor track and field. She was named Swimmer of the Meet in this year’s PVC championships.

The four will receive their awards at DEFY’s annual meeting. The meeting is on hold for the moment as a result of the novel coronavirus pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *