Tymoczko Is Double Winner At Indoor Track League Meet

ORONO — Vince Tymoczko of Bucksport was a double winner and six other Hancock County athletes won single events in Eastern Maine Indoor Track League competition on Saturday at the University of Maine fieldhouse.

As is usually the case in regular season competition, two meets were run simultaneously.

In the boys’ B meet competition, it was Brewer the winner with 115 points, followed by Hermon 98, Old Town 97, Mount Desert Island 46, Bucksport 28, Mattanawcook Academy 26 and Sumner 12.

Tymoczko placed first in the 400-meter run in 51.61 seconds, first in the 200-meter run in 23.64 seconds and second in the 55-meter dash in 6.89 seconds for Bucksport’s Golden Bucks.

Ben Cummings of MDI’s Trojans continued to set the standard for pole vault this season, placing first with a height of 13 feet, 8 inches.

MDI’s Taylor Brown also won the shot put with a throw of 39 feet, 11.75 inches.

Others who placed:

Four-by-880-yard relay: MDI (Chris Heel, Haydn Thomas, Adam Davis and James Magnani), second, 10:11.95.

55-meter hurdles: Eric McQuinn, MDI, fifth, 10.88 seconds.

55-meter dash: Mike Crowley, Sumner, fourth, 7.22 seconds.

Mile run: Taylor Lee, Sumner, fifth, 5:35.11; Brandon Wade, Sumner, sixth, 5:49.48.

400-meter run: McQuinn, fifth, 58.60 seconds.

Two-mile run: Thomas, third, 12:00.60.

Four-by-220-yard relay: MDI (Caleb Roebuck, Carl Ferm, McQuinn and Brown), third, 1:45.03; Sumner (John Sandiego, Chris Light, Kwan Yat Lo and Crowley), fourth, 1:45.83.

Shot put: Uriah Hallett, MDI, fifth, 35 feet, 5.75 inches.

In girls’ meet B, Brewer won with 160 points, followed by Old Town 77, Hermon 57, Bucksport 45, MDI 31, Mattanawcook 19 and Sumner 8.

Destiny Kanu of MDI’s Trojans won the 400-meter run in 1:03.78, and Chris Fairweather of Bucks-port was first in the shot put with a throw of 29 feet, 10.25 inches.

Others who placed:

55-meter hurdles: Jacqueline Cormier, Sumner, fourth, 12.22 seconds.

55-meter dash: Kanu, third, 7.83 seconds; Molly Hunt, Bucks-port, fourth, 8.12.

800-meter run: Nellie Winship, Bucksport, fourth, 2:34.03.

200-meter run: Hunt, third, 29.36 seconds; Moriah Estabrook, Sumner, fifth, 30.60; Katy Jones, Bucksport, sixth, 31.01.

Two-mile run: Heather Brown, Bucksport, fifth, 15:31.02; Avalon Langevin, Bucksport, sixth, 15:31.15.

Four-by-220-yard relay: Bucks-port (Kelly Bourgon, Jones, Winship and Hunt), third, 2:02.41; MDI (Nina Peterson, Kanu, Rebecca O’Donnell and Caitie Smith), fourth, 2:08.58; Sumner (Aidan Kadyrova, Cormier, Jamie Hoglund and Estabrook), fifth, 2:09.54.

Shot put: O’Donnell, fourth, 26 feet, 7.75 inches.

Long jump: Bourgon, third, 12 feet, 8.75 inches.

Triple jump: Bourgon, fifth, 27 feet, .5 inch.

High jump: Ciana Puckett, Bucksport, fourth, 4 feet.

Pole vault: Smith, third, 5 feet, 6 inches.

Bangor took top honors in the boys’ meet A competition with 176 points, followed by Hampden 85.5, Orono 58, Ellsworth 47, John Bapst 36, Central 11.5 and Foxcroft Academy no score.

Ben Chapman won the mile run in 4:35.64 and placed second in the 800-meter run in 2:06.24, and Sage Dyer won the long jump with a distance of 18 feet, 5.75 inches and was second in the triple jump, clearing 37 feet, 9.75 inches, for the Ellsworth Eagles.

Others who placed for Ellsworth:

Mile run: Drew Barkhouse, third, 5:00.96; Blake Pattengale, fifth, 5:08.28.

200-meter run: Jakob Jordan, fifth, 25.01 seconds.

Two-mile run: Pattengale, sixth, 11:30.22.

In the girls’ A meet, it was Bangor the winner with 142 points, followed by Orono 90, John Bapst 73, Hampden 53, Ellsworth 24, Central 16 and Foxcroft 8.

Placing for the Eagles:

Mile run: Rosie Vachon, fourth, 5:57.18.

400-meter run: Darien Lewis, third, 1:04.41.

800-meter run: Vachon, fifth, 2:45.06.

Two-mile run: Brianne Dunn, second, 12:44.93; Hayley White, fourth, 12:59.12.

For more sports news, pick up a copy of the Mount Desert Islander.


Latest posts by admin (see all)