PVC names all-stars in swimming, track

ELLSWORTH — Nearly three dozen athletes from Ellsworth and Mount Desert Island high schools earned Penobscot Valley Conference honors in swimming and outdoor track for the just-completed season.

Heading the list in swimming was Will Greene of the MDI Trojans, who was named Male Diver of the Year.

Others named to the boys’ all-star swim team for MDI:

Ross Johnston, 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard butterfly.

Madison Luck and Kristoph Naggert, 500-yard freestyle.

Thomas Gallup, 100-yard breaststroke.

Johnston, Gallup, Luck and Sam Jacobson, 200-yard medley relay.

Jacobson, Gallup, Tyler Wood and Johnston, 200-yard freestyle relay.

For Ellsworth:

Cooper Holmes, 200-yard freestyle and 100-yard backstroke.

Talor Hamilton, 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard backstroke.

Maks Grover, 100-yard freestyle.

Hamilton, Ben Walton, Holmes and Grover, 400-yard freestyle relay.

Named to the girls’ all-star team for MDI:

Erin Connery, 200-yard freestyle and 500-yard freestyle.

Avalon Kerley, 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard breaststroke.

Amelia Kief, 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard freestyle.

Olivia Jacobs and Sydney Wright, 100-yard freestyle.

Aubrie Boyce, 100-yard butterfly.

Kief, Connery, Kerley and Jacobs, 200-yard medley relay and 200-yard freestyle relay.

Maggie Painter, Wright, Olivia Erickson and Kerley, 400-yard freestyle relay.

For Ellsworth:

Cece McEachern, 200-yard individual medley and 500-yard freestyle.

MDI’s Tony Demuro also was named PVC Girls’ Swimming Coach of the Year.

Two Ellsworth athletes dominated the PVC-Eastern Maine Indoor Track League boys’ and girls’ all-star teams.

Earning first team honors in the 800-meter, mile and two-mile runs for the Eagles were juniors Dan Curts and Aleta Looker.

Other first team selections included Trevor Alley of MDI and Tori Huntley of Ellsworth in the shot put.

Boys’ second team honors went to Brandon Murphy of MDI in the 200-meter run, the MDI foursome of Murphy, Max Mason, Ralph Magnani and Will Richard in the four-by-220-yard relay and the Ellsworth foursome of Frank King, Curts, Derek Hawes and Robert Looker in the four-by-880-yard relay.

Girls’ second team honors went to Looker in the 400-meter run, Nora Hubbell of MDI in the 800-meter and two-mile runs, and the MDI foursome of Caroline Driscoll, Emma Fernald, Kayla Ray and Hubbell in the four-by-880-yard relay.

For more sports news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.

Hugh Bowden

Hugh Bowden

Executive Editor
Hugh writes editorials, covers Hancock County sports and helps out where needed in The American's editorial department. When he's not on the sidelines, he enjoys playing jazz and tennis. [email protected]
Hugh Bowden

Latest posts by Hugh Bowden (see all)