NAC Softball All-Conference Teams Announced

CASTINE — Maine Maritime sophomore catcher Leah Jackson (Dedham) was selected as the NAC Defensive Player of the Year for the 2011 season. Jackson was also a 1st Team All-Conference choice while sophomores Sabrina Keach (Chesterville) and Casey McCloskey (Howland) were named to the 2nd Team.

Sophomore shortstop Aimee Mortensen of Husson University was selected as the North Atlantic Conference Softball Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches.

Mortensen was among the league leaders in batting average (.463) and onbase percentage (.529) with 18 runs batted in and 18 runs scored as the Husson Eagles finished 12-2 in conference play and earned the top seed in the NAC tournament.

Maine Maritime’s Leah Jackson was named Defensive Player of the Year. The sophomore catcher had a perfect fielding percentage with 94 put outs and seven assists.

Castleton outfielder Tori Fearon was honored as the NAC Softball Rookie of the Year. The freshman hit .558 in conference games with a .635 on base percentage while scoring 18 runs and driving in 16.

After leading his team to an 12-2 conference record and second seed in the NAC tournament, Thomas’ Terry Parlin was named NAC Softball Coach of the Year.

Johnson State College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

2011 NAC Softball All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team
CF Mallorie Blakney – Thomas, Sr
SS Megan Blongy – Castleton, So
OF Tori Fearon – Castleton, Fr
SS Lindsay Fry – Thomas, Fr
OF Courtney Hill – Husson, So
C Leah Jackson – Maine Maritime, So
P Taylor Lively – Castleton, So
1B Shannon Mitchell – Farmington, Jr
SS Aimee Mortensen – Husson, So

All-Conference Second Team
C/DP McKell Barnes – Farmington, Sr
1B Amanda Gifford – Husson, Jr
3B Amy Jones – Farmington, Fr
1B Sabrina Keach – Maine Maritime, So
P Kody Lyon – Husson, So
P Casey McCloskey – Maine Maritime, So
C Samantha Moore – Thomas, So
P/DP Kelly Naegelin – Husson, Fr
3B Natalia Shams – Lyndon State, Sr

Player of the Year
SS Aimee Mortensen – Husson, So

Defensive Player of the Year
C Leah Jackson – Maine Maritime, So

Rookie of the Year
OF Tori Fearon – Castleton, Fr

Coach of the Year
Terry Parlin – Thomas

Team Sportsmanship Award
Johnson State


For more sports news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.


Latest posts by admin (see all)