Three Mariners Named All-NAC

CASTINE — Three members of the Maine Maritime Academy men’s soccer team were named to the All-North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Team when it was released on Thursday. Abdullah Alkhayyat (Jeddah, Saudi Arabia) was named to the First Team, while Benjamin Russell (Farmington) and Nate Tipton (West Chester, Pa.) was named to the second team.

Alkhayyat was named to the league’s First Team for the third time in as many years. The junior provided the Mariners with five goals and two assists in 2011. The junior scored game-winning goals against Maine-Presque Isle and Maine-Farmington.

A junior, Russell is making his first appearance on the All-NAC squad. He scored a team-high six-goals and assisted on three more. Half of Russell’s goals held up as game winning tallies, including the game’s lone goal in the NAC Quarterfinals.

A senior, Tipton was named to the All-NAC Second Team for the fourth time in his career. He scored four goals and assisted on four more this season. Tipton tallied the game-winning marker against Johnson State and Maine-Presque Isle.

The Mariners finished the season at 9-5-3, reaching the NAC Semifinals.

2011 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team
Abdullah Alkhayyat – Jr. – M – Maine Maritime
Philip Frost – Fr. – F – Husson
Jordan Hale – Jr. – F – Me.-Farmington
Michael Hand – So. – F – Thomas
Trevor Higgins – Sr. – D – Husson
Nick Johnas – Sr. – D – Castleton
Aaron Kolb – Jr. – F – New England Col.
Trevor Kotrady – Jr. – F – Castleton
Patrice Lumumba – Jr. – F – Lyndon
Tyler Metevier – Sr. – D – Husson
Brian Potter – Fr. – GK – Husson

Second Team
Spencer Dandurand – So. – F – Castleton
Greg Dawson – Sr. – F – Husson
Ryan Demars – Sr. – F – Johnson St.
Matt Ford – So. – M – Thomas
Chris Gaskin – Jr. – F – Green Mountain
Mike Kelly – Jr. – M – Me.-Farmington
James Kiriakos – Sr. – D – New England Col.
Sean Raph – Sr. – M – Me.-Farmington
Jacob Roswell – Jr. – D – Castleton
Benjamin Russell – Jr. – M – Maine Maritime
Nate Tipton – Sr. – F – Maine Maritime

Player of the Year
Michael Hand – So. – F – Thomas

Defensive Player of the Year
Nick Johnas – Sr. – D – Castleton

Rookie of the Year
Luiz Ristow – Fr. – M – Me.-Farmington

Coach of the Year
Jeff Gettler – Husson

Team Sportsmanship Award
Johnson State College


For more sports news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.

Fenceviewer Staff

Latest posts by Fenceviewer Staff (see all)