Ellsworth’s Addi Laslie sprints past the Mattanawcook Academy defense during a high school girls’ soccer preseason game Aug. 28 at Hampden Academy. Local high school soccer players earned postseason honors last week from the Penobscot Valley Conference and Maine Soccer Coaches Association. FILE PHOTO

Hancock County soccer players rack up postseason honors

BLUE HILL — A slew of soccer honors were handed out in recent days with two local players receiving Penobscot Valley Conference Player of the Year recognition.

George Stevens Academy’s Arden Weaver and Bucksport’s Ella Hosford were announced Friday as PVC Class C Player of the Year recipients. The two were among many Hancock County players to earn PVC and Maine Soccer Coaches Association honors.

Hosford, Bucksport’s all-time scoring leader, was one of the team’s five All-PVC selections along with Natasha Monreal and Jetta Shook (first team), Alyssa Maguire (second team) and Johanna Stiles (third team). GSA’s Clementine Bannon and Sumner’s Bri Flaherty were All-PVC third-team selections.

On the boys’ side, GSA’s Weaver was an All-PVC Class C first-teamer alongside teammate Cyrus Blake, Bucksport’s Evan Donnell and Colin Simpson and Sumner’s Caelan Billings and Eduardo Figueroa. The Golden Bucks’ Jacob Brezovsky and Kai Brown were All-PVC second-team selections, and Elijah Stinson was a second-teamer for Deer Isle-Stonington in Class D.

In Class B, Ellsworth seniors Addi Laslie and Paige Sawyer of Ellsworth and Lelia Weir of Mount Desert Island were chosen to the All-PVC first-team girls’ team. Two other local seniors, the Eagles’ Julie Mattson and the Trojans’ Sabine Costello-Sanders, were All-PVC Class B second-teamers.

Ellsworth’s Cruz Coffin (first team) was an All-PVC first-team selection in the Class B boys’ ranks, and the Eagles’ Darren Easler, Silas Montigny, Luke Perry and Tanner Seura were second-team picks. Ieuan Howell (first team) and Sophia Baker and Henning Reinholdt (second team) garnered All-PVC honors for MDI.

On Wednesday, the Maine Soccer Coaches Association announced Ellsworth’s Laslie and Sawyer, MDI’s Weir and Bucksport’s Hosford, Maguire and Shook as girls’ regional all-star selections. Ellsworth’s Coffin and Easler, MDI’s Howell, Bucksport’s Brezovsky, GSA’s Blake and Weaver and Sumner’s Billings were regional all-star picks on the boys’ side.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.