Darren Winchenbach of Saco crosses the finish line to win the 3-mile edition of the Bridge the Gap Race on April 6 in Bucksport. Winchenbach finished with a time of 18 minutes, 35 seconds to win the event for the second year in a row. ELLSWORTH AMERICAN PHOTO BY MIKE MANDELL

Runners rock Bucksport, Verona Island, Prospect for Bridge the Gap Race

BUCKSPORT — One of Maine’s biggest road races was held over the weekend as runners traversed the Waldo County-Hancock County line for this year’s running of the Bridge the Gap Race.

Two races were held as part of the event, which drew 511 people to Bucksport, Verona Island and Prospect. Runners in the 3-mile and 10-mile races began on the Prospect side before crossing the Penobscot Narrows Bridge into Verona Island and finishing in downtown Bucksport.

Darren Winchenbach of Saco won the 3-mile race for the second straight year with a time of 18 minutes, 35 seconds. His time was 42 seconds ahead of runner-up Chris Jones of Bucksport and and 54 seconds ahead of third-place finisher Nick Brown of Ellsworth.

Elsewhere in the top five, Ellsworth’s Haley Jaye Facciolo was the top female finisher in the 3-miler with a time of 19:38, and Anthoney Smith of Bucksport crossed the finish line in 19:45 to place fifth. Edward Fontaine of Bangor, Geoff Reid of Winterport, Joe Hermans of Blue Hill, Lindsey Gordon of South Portland and Bailey Bishoff of Ellsworth rounded out the top 10.

In the 10-mile race, Erik McCarthy of Old Town finished in 53:45 to place first overall. Robbie Hollis of Farmington, Judson Cake of Bar Harbor, Richard Sukiennik of Bangor and Eric Mauricette of Baileyville rounded out the top five.

On the women’s side, Bangor’s Andrea Oldenburg was the top finisher with a time of 1:14:25 and overall place of 28th. Jaylee Fox of Mapleton (29th), Sara Lamback of Cambridge, Mass. (34th), Deedra Dapice of Brewer (36th), Ava Dowling of Newburgh (48th) and Tia Parady of Portland (49th) also finished in the 222-runner field’s top 50.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.