Bucksport’s Gage Bruns competes in the Penobscot Valley Conference championship cross-country meet Oct. 16 at Bucksport High School. Runners from all six Hancock County were announced Thursday as selections to this year’s All-PVC teams. KARIN BOS PHOTO

Local cross-country runners earn All-PVC accolades

ELLSWORTH — Runners from all six Hancock County high schools were rewarded Thursday with Valley Conference All-Conference selections.

In Class B, Ellsworth’s Addison Nelson and Mount Desert Island’s Ella Joyce, Grace Munger, AyliGrace Munro and Amelia VanDongen were All-PVC first-team choices. The Trojans’ Callan Eason, Azaria Long, Meri Rainford and Piper Soares were second-team selections.

MDI’s Sam York, who posted four race wins this year, was chosen as the PVC Class B Boys’ Runner of the Year and also earned a spot on the All-PVC first team. Liam McKernan and Spencer Rose earned All-PVC second-team honors for the Trojans. For Ellsworth, Matthew Cormier received honorable mention.

George Stevens Academy’s Thea Crowley, who won a home meet in September and was the No. 2 girls’ finisher across all classes in the state championship meet, was a first-team All-PVC selection in Class C. Also named a Class C girls’ selection was Bucksport’s Rebekah Ireland.

Conference champion William Hileman of Bucksport was named the PVC Class C Boys’ Runner of the Year and was also a PVC first-team selection. Bucksport’s Gage Bruns and Sumner’s Kaleb Colson were also All-PVC first-teamers on the boys’ side.

Elsewhere in the Class C boys’ ranks, GSA’s Micah Bryan, Ira Buchholz and Sol Lorio and Deer Isle-Stonington’s Henry Penfold earned All-PVC second-team selections. GSA’s Jack Gray and Andrew Hipsky, Bucksport’s Michael Johnson and Sumner’s Ren Salisbury all received honorable mention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.