Phelps, Petros Are Named Big East Conference Players of the Year

ELLSWORTH — Junior Megan Phelps of the Mount Desert Trojans and senior Ryan Petros of the Ellsworth Eagles have been named basketball players of the year by the Big East Conference.

The two athletes head a list of several Hancock County players who earned all-conference awards for their play during the recently completed season.

Some of the county’s top senior players will be competing Saturday in the annual Big East Conference Senior All-Star Games at Hermon High School.

The girls’ game will get things started at 1 p.m. with an awards ceremony planned at its conclusion.

The boys’ game will immediately follow that ceremony.

Each game will involve Blue and White teams with players assigned according to region.

Competing on the girls’ White team, coached by Brent Barker of the Mount Desert Island Trojans, will be Kara Churchill of the Bucksport Golden Bucks, Sarah Stanley and Marissa Johnson of the Ellsworth Eagles and Sara Carroll, Jessica Swanson and Mackenzie Curtis of the Trojans.

Competing on the boys’ Blue team, coached by Peter Austin of the Ellsworth Eagles, will be Brandon Flegel and Cody Farrell of Bucksport, Ryan Petros, Brad Folmer and Ross Saunders of Ellsworth and Connor Records and Travis Norwood of MDI.

Following are the players named to the Big East all-conference teams:

MDI’s Phelps earned first team honors, MDI teammate Sara Carroll was named to the second team, and honorable mentions went to Sadie Wight of Bucksport and Sarah Stanley of Ellsworth.

Carrie Daigle of Bucksport, Lily Cooper of Ellsworth and Brigitte Pratt of MDI were named all-conference scholar-athletes.

Defensive awards went to Mindy Pye of Bucksport, Kalyn Jackson of Ellsworth and Mackenzie Curtis of MDI.

On the boys’ side, Ellsworth’s Petros was a first team selection, Jason Burke of MDI was named to the second team and Brad Folmer of Ellsworth and Caleb MacDonald of MDI received honorable mention.

Conference scholar-athletes include Isaac Redman of Bucksport, Andrew Austin of Ellsworth and Connor Records of MDI.

Tim Nason of Bucksport, Ross Saunders of Ellsworth and Travis Norwood of MDI received Paul Soucy Spirit Awards.

Defensive awards went to Cody Farrell of Bucksport, Zach Emeigh of Ellsworth and Connor Records of MDI.

Two George Stevens Academy Eagle seniors also have been selected to represent Eastern Maine in the annual McDonald’s All-Star Basketball Games at Husson University in Bangor on Saturday, March 13.

Competing for the East in the girls’ Class C/D game at 9:30 a.m. will be India Frazier, and Elias Springer will compete for the East in the boys’ Class C/D game at 3 p.m.

For more sports news, pick up a copy of the Mount Desert Islander.


Latest posts by admin (see all)