Pictured are members of the 2018 GSA baseball team, (front, from left) Garrett Parker, Marcus Candage, Austin Snow, Ben Cole, Ben Parker, Ethan Vinall and Memphis Parker; (back, from left) Ethan Snow, Gavin Mote, Caden Mattson, Marshal Lebel, Tyler McKenney, Stefan Simmons, Tanner Ashley and Elias Reyes. GEORGE STEVENS ACADEMY PHOTO

George Stevens Academy baseball team wins sportsmanship award

BLUE HILL — The George Stevens Academy baseball team, led by head coach Dan Kane, has received the 2018 Peter Webb Good Sportsmanship Award for the fourth consecutive year. The Eagles have won the award seven of the last 18 seasons.

The award, named after a longtime official in Maine, goes to a team in Class C or D whose players, coaches and team staff “have shown outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season,” according to the Eastern Maine Baseball Umpires Association, which bestows the award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *