22 players compete in Annual Maine/N.H. Croquet tourney

ELLSWORTH — The sixth annual Maine/New Hampshire State Croquet Championship wrapped up Sunday afternoon, June 23, at the Woodlawn Croquet Court on the grounds of the Woodlawn Museum.

Twenty-two players competed in four flights during the four days of croquet play at Woodlawn and at the Tapley Cove court in Brooksville, the home of Mary Gould and Marcia Chapman.

The tournament opened June 19 with a reception and dinner at the Woodlawn Sleigh Barn.

The third flight was won by George Blagden of Blue Hill who defeated Don Parker of Hancock Point. Parker had breezed through the block play games without a loss but Blagden prevailed in the championship game by a score of 12 to 9.

Third place in the third flight went to Oakley Johnson from Sorrento.

The second flight was won by Charles Alexander of Ellsworth in a rematch with Janet Pearson of Surry, who had beaten Alexander in their block play match and was the number one seed going into the championship game. Alexander pulled out a win in the end by a score of 17 to 16.

Fred Beck from Brooksville was third in the second flight.

In the first flight, several up and coming players played like they belonged in the championship flight.

Webster Bull of Sorrento, who had the highest handicap in the first flight, cruised through the block play and beat Bill Whitman of Stonington by a score of 14 to 11 in the championship game.

Third place went to Dick Scherf of Dover, N.H.

In the championship flight, Perry Mattson of Surry was the top seed going into the championship game against perennial winner Neil Houghton of Northeast Harbor.

Unfortunately, Houghton was ill with the flu over the weekend and was unable to play in the championship game.

Tom Hughes from Perry placed third in the championship flight.

Big Cats Catering provided the lunch at noon during the championship games.

Find in-depth coverage of local news in The Ellsworth American. Subscribe digitally or in print.

Fenceviewer Staff

Latest posts by Fenceviewer Staff (see all)