Ellsworth’s Ridge Weatherbee gets hold of Mount Desert Island’s Nick Jacobs during a 152-pound bout of a high school wrestling meet Dec. 11 in Bar Harbor. Weatherbee and dozens of other Hancock County athletes were announced Sunday as All-Penobscot Valley Conference selections across various sports. FILE PHOTO

All-PVC basketball, wrestling, indoor track teams announced

ELLSWORTH — The Penobscot Valley Conference announced Sunday this year’s All-PVC selections for basketball, wrestling and indoor track.

In boys’ basketball, George Stevens Academy’s David Gadsby (first team) and Teague Smallidge (third team) were All-PVC Class C selections. Sumner’s Rachel Colby was an All-PVC Class C selection on the girls’ side, and Deer Isle-Stonington’s Luna Perry-St. Peter and Macey Brown were first-team Class D selections with the former chosen as the Girls’ Player of the Year in the class.

For Bucksport, Jaxon Gross (220 pounds) and Grayson Fernald (285 pounds) were All-PVC first team selections in wrestling, and fellow Golden Bucks Kaleb Nightingale (132) and Joe Bowen (195) received honorable mention. Ellsworth’s Luke Horne (120), Ridge Weatherbee (152) and Luke McKenney (170) were second-teamers, and Grayson Mote (138) and Casey-Ryan McDonald (220) received honorable mention.

Mount Desert Island’s Mike Rogers was the PVC’s choice for Wrestling Coach of the Year. Rogers stepped on as head coach shortly before the season began following the departure of Tony Dalisio and led a team comprised primarily of new wrestlers to numerous individual wins throughout the season.

Deer Isle-Stonington’s Macey Brown defends against Schenck’s Kristin Russell during a girls’ basketball tournament game Feb. 21 at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor. Brown and teammate Luna Perry-St. Peter were named All-PVC first-team girls’ selections in Class D. FILE PHOTO

“This is a team award that reflects the hard work and vast improvements [our wrestlers] made over the course of the year,” Rogers said. “I’d also like to thank Tony Dalisio for all of his advice and passion, Bunky Dow for encouraging me to take this on and helping me start the year and Mike Todd for jumping in to help me out just days after moving to the area. Mostly, I want to thank my wife, Jenny, and kids for allowing me to take the time to do this.”

Bucksport’s Natasha Monreal (long jump, triple jump), GSA’s Thea Crowley (1- and 2-mile runs) and Sumner’s Ada Fisher (55-meter hurdles and 400-meter dash) were first-team Small-School selections in indoor track. Also selected were GSA’s Kathleen Stephens (high jump) and Bucksport’s Alyssa Maguire (shot put) and 4-by-200 relay team of Monreal, Angelina Cotoni, Alyx Frazell and Johanna Stiles.

Sumner’s Kaleb Colson led the way with three first-team selections to the Small-School boys’ team (400-meter dash, 800-meter run, 1-mile run), and Bucksport’s Colin Simpson was a first-teamer in the long and triple jumps. The Bucks’ William Hileman (2-mile run) and Nathan Paulauskas (high jump) and 4-by-800 team of Hileman, Jacob Brezovsky, Michael Johnson and Gage Bruns were also first-team choices.

Cotoni (55-meter dash, 55-meter hurdles), Stiles (200-meter dash), Frazell (high jump), Stephens (400-meter dash) and Crowley (800-meter run) also earned second-team selections. Chosen on the boys’ side were Sumner’s Colson (2-mile run) and Bucksport’s Hileman (800-meter and 1-mile runs), Jack (200-meter dash), Paulauskas (long jump) Kai Brown (55-meter hurdles) and 4-by-200 team (Brown, Paulauskas, Jack, Ayden Maguire).

Ellsworth’s Tori Watkins (high jump) and MDI’s Miles Burr (200-meter dash) and Daniel Freudig (pole vault) were first-team Large-School selections. Burr, a second-teamer in the 55-meter dash and triple jump, also joined Freudig, Ieuan Howell and Noah Daigle on the 4-by-200 second team. Other second-teamers were Ellsworth’s Drew Pierson (high jump) and Paige Sawyer (55-meter hurdles) and MDI’s Amelia VanDongen (800-meter run) and Delaney Sweeney (pole vault).

Selections for this year’s All-PVC swim team were announced earlier this month. The PVC does not release all-conference teams for Class B basketball, though the Big East Conference announce announced its all-conference choices Feb. 23.

Mike Mandell

Mike Mandell

Mike Mandell is the sports editor at The Ellsworth American and Mount Desert Islander. He began working for The American in August 2016. You can reach him via email at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.