YMCA to honor student athletes, volunteers

ELLSWORTH — The Down East Family YMCA Annual Meeting and Awards Night is scheduled for Wednesday, April 24, at the Moore Community Center.


The evening is principally a shareholder’s report for the community. The Y releases its financial statement from the previous year and recognizes the individuals who have supported the institution. The doors will open at 6 p.m. with the dinner beginning at 6:30. The meeting will begin at 7.


This year there will be four recipients of the Teddy Saunders Award, which is presented to a local youth who is a well-rounded athlete and exhibits exceptional sportsmanship, leadership qualities and role model characteristics. This year’s recipients are Miriam Nelson, Madison Clifford, Carter Tolmasoff, and Conner Wagstaff.


The Maralyn “Pete” Turnbull Volunteer of the Year Award is given to individuals who selflessly dedicate many hours of volunteer service to the organization. This year’s recipients are Bridget Gardner (Blue Hill area), Rich Rotella (Bucksport area) and Shawn Holler (Ellsworth area).


The Service to Youth Award was established to honor an individual whose efforts result in a positive outcome for youth in our community. This year’s recipient is Bucksport Police Chief Sean Geagan.


RSVP by April 19 to 667-3086 or [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *