New Members Elected to Blue Hill Co-op Board

BLUE HILL — The Blue Hill Co-op recently held an election for its board of directors, which concluded at the annual meeting of owners Sept. 20.


Five new board representatives were elected to serve three-year terms.

The new members are Henrietta Clews (a nurse-midwife from Blue Hill), Scott Howell (a carpenter and farmer from Blue Hill), Heather Morrison (a nurse anesthetist from Blue Hill), Mia Strong (a community organizer, homeschooling mom and former business owner from Sedgwick) and Ruth Sullivan (former Co-op membership and marketing coordinator and cheese department manager from Blue Hill).

The new members join Chip Angell of Brooklin and Becky McCall of Blue Hill to make up the 2009-2010 Co-op Board of Directors.

Besides honoring outgoing board members, the annual meeting included reports from the board and general manager, statements by the candidates, a potluck dinner, door prizes and musical entertainment.

Prizes were donated by the following individuals and businesses: author Jane Crosen; Strawberry Hill Farms; Zero Balancing with Benjamin Fox; David Walker and Blue Hill Yoga; author and artist Barbara Joy Hare; David’s Folly Farm; and the Blue Hill Co-op Community Market & Café.

Winners of the door prizes were Steve Benson, Nancy Boothby, Karen Doherty, Edee Howland, Eileen Mielenhausen, Phil Norris, Cecily Page and Anne Walker.

For more community news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.




This post is from the archives of The Ellsworth American, Mount Desert Islander and

Latest posts by archived (see all)