Leavitt wins race for Orland selectman

ORLAND — Brenda Leavitt emerged the victor among five candidates for a three-year term on the Orland Board of Selectmen.

Leavitt took 108 votes, beating out incumbent Selectman Lester Stackpole, who received 79 votes during polling Tuesday, according to Orland Town Clerk Connie Brown.

John Barlow received 65 votes, Matthew Pierce 24 and Matthew Johnson seven.

Also on Tuesday, incumbent Regional School Unit 25 (RSU 25) School Board Member Linda Burgess was returned to the board with 215 votes. Challenger Matthew Johnson took 64 votes.

Incumbent Road Commissioner Robert Wardwell received 246 votes.

Guy Haney was elected to a four-year term on the Fish Committee with 250 votes. Haney replaces Paul Hopkins, whose term expired. He decided not to seek re-election.

Jennifer Osborn

Jennifer Osborn

Reporter and columnist at The Ellsworth American
News Reporter Jennifer Osborn covers news and features on the Blue Hill Peninsula and Deer Isle-Stonington. She welcomes tips and story ideas. She also writes the Gone Shopping column. Email Jennifer with your suggestions at [email protected] or call 667-2576.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *