Gold Digger won the Diesel Class J and Lady Skipper categories at the lobster boat races Saturday during the Winter Harbor Lobster Festival. MALACHY FLYNN

Winter Harbor hosts 58th annual lobster boat races

WINTER HARBOR — Crowds gathered at the dock in Winter Harbor Saturday for the start of the 58th annual lobster boat races hosted by the town. The races ran during the Winter Harbor Lobster Festival, which included a craft fair at the fire station and lobster dinner at the Masonic Lodge.

The Winter Harbor lobster boat races mark the first of the August events on the statewide circuit. The Merritt Brackett races in Pemaquid were scheduled to be held Sunday, Aug. 14, followed by the Long Island races on Saturday, Aug. 20, and the MS Harborfest race in Portland on Sunday, Aug. 21.

There were 29 races over the course of the day for different classes and categories of boats. There were 97 boats registered across all classes and categories, with several appearing in multiple races.

After the races, participants and spectators gathered near the dock for the award presentation, where the winners of each race were presented with a trophy featuring a hand-blown glass anchor. Other prizes were awarded based on a drawing of all the boats in the races. These included several cash prizes, $20,000 worth of fuel, chainsaws, tool sets and knives from Maine Knife Company.

Heather Thompson’s boat Gold Digger won the Lady Skippers race, as well as Diesel Class J. David Myrick’s boat Janice Elaine won the Diesel Free for All as well as Diesel Class K. Mark Freeman’s boat Foolish Pleasure won the Gasoline Free for All and Gasoline Class D. Dixon Smith’s boat Size Matters took home first place in the “Oh My God That’s a Big Boat” race, and Jeff Eaton’s boat La Bella Vita won first place for Fastest Lobster Boat.

Race results

Work boats 24 feet and under

Race 1 – Class A, Inboard, Outboard or Outdrive, any hp, must have a working hauler.

Daddy Didn’t Buy It, Nathaniel Robinson.

Little Miss Abbie, Mark Piper.

Mini Me, Jett Joy.

Gas-powered work boats 24 feet and up

Race 2 – Gasoline Class A: no entrants.

Race 3 – Gasoline Class B – V8 up to 375 CID, 24 feet and up.

Empty Pockets, Roy Hadlock

Race 4 – Gasoline Class C: no entrants.

Race 5 – Gasoline Class D – 386 CID and over, 24 feet and over (non-working racer).

Foolish Pleasure, Mark Freeman

Race 6 – Gasoline Class E: no entrants.

Diesel-powered work boats 24 feet and up

Race 7 – Diesel Class A – up to 235 hp, 24 to 31 feet.

Prince of Peace, Brian Tredwell.

Black Thundah II, Brandon Murphy.

Southern Belle, Cole Faulkingham.

Race 8 – Diesel Class B – up to 235 hp, 32 feet and over.

Megan Suzanne, Emmett Moshier.

Mr. Lucky, Kit Johnson.

Caitlyn, David Schlaefer.

Race 9 – Diesel Class C – 236 to 335 hp, 24 to 33 feet.

Last Design, Roy Fagonde.

Navigator, Michaela Byers.

Sh*t 4 Brains, Lance Kennedy.

Race 10 – Diesel Class D – 236 to 335 hp, 34 feet and over.

Wrecking Crew, Ivan Libby.

Ellen Louise, Conner Rossi.

Bonnie’s Brats, Roy Whalen.

Race 11 – Diesel Class E – 336 to 435 hp, 24 to 33 feet.

Audrey May, Randy Durkee.

High Voltage, Daniel Sawyer.

Catherine Elizabeth, Allan Johnson.

Race 12 – Diesel Class F – 336 to 435 hp, 34 feet and over.

Faith Melle, Winfred Alley Jr.

Sunshine Chalet, Brian Strout.

Rich Endeavor, Colyn Rich.

Race 13 – Diesel Class G – 436 to 550 hp, 28 to 35 feet.

Right Stuff, Dana Beal

Race 14 – Diesel Class H – 436 to 550 hp, 36 feet and over.

Melynda M., William Coombs.

Bethany Grace, Dan Beal.

Tuna Wishing, Jason West.

Race 15 – Diesel Class I – 551 to 700 hp, 28 to 35 feet.

Obsession, Ryan Lemieux.

Triple X, Colby Oakes.

Margaret E., Patrick Faulkingham.

Race 16 – Diesel Class J – 551 to 700 hp, 36 feet and over.

Gold Digger, Heather Thompson.

Fifth Generation, Mac Kelley.

Easy Money, Nathan Thompson.

Race 17 – Diesel Class K – 701 to 900 hp, 28 feet and over.

Janice Elaine, David Myrick.

La Bella Vita, Jeff Eaton.

Race 18 – Diesel Class L – 901 hp and over, 28 feet and over.

Marie’s Nightmare II, Jeremy Beal.

Race 19 – Diesel Class M(A) – 40 feet and over, up to 500 hp.

Miss Tonia, David Merchant.

Old School, Chris Pope.

Miss Rebecka, Josh Trundy.

Race 20 – Diesel Class M(B) – 40 feet and over, 501 to 750 hp.

Kimberly Ann, Eric Beal.

Miss Madelyn, Jason Chipman.

Alexsa Rose, Matt Shepard.

Race 21 – Diesel Class N – 40 feet and over, 751 hp and over.

Terrie J., Todd Pinkham.

Natalie E., Dana Beal.

Pier Pressure, Jason West.

Outlaw classes

Race 22 – Class O: no entrants.

Race 23 – Class P – “Oh My God That’s a Big Boat,” 44 feet and over.

Size Matters, Dixon Smith.

Kayla Ann, Josh Beal.

Hammer Down, Jared Coffin.

Race 24 – Wooden Boat Race A: no entrants.

Race 25 – Wooden Boat Race B: no entrants.

Race 26 – Lady Skippers, must have a lobster license.

Gold Digger, Heather Thompson.

Navigator, Michaela Byers.

51, Robin Faulkingham.

Race 27 – Gasoline Free for All.

Foolish Pleasure, Mark Freeman.

Race 28 – Diesel Free for All.

Janice Elaine, David Myrick.

La Bella Vita, Jeff Eaton.

Gold Digger, Heather Thompson.

Race 29 – Fastest Lobster Boat.

La Bella Vita, Jeff Eaton.

Janice Elaine, David Myrick.

Foolish Pleasure, Mark Freeman.

Malachy Flynn

Reporter Malachy Flynn covers news on the Schoodic beat, which includes the towns of Eastbrook, Franklin, Hancock, Sorrento, Sullivan, Trenton, Waltham, and Winter Harbor. He also reports on the town of Tremont on Mount Desert Island. He welcomes tips and suggestions about stories in the area. To contact Malachy with tips or questions, email him at [email protected].

Latest posts by Malachy Flynn (see all)