Two New Selectmen Elected in Franklin

FRANKLIN — The town once again has a full contingent of three selectmen following a special election Sept. 7.

Robert Cossette, who ran unopposed for the position of first selectman, was elected with 178 votes, according to Town Clerk Robert Fernald.

Joey Smith was elected third selectman with 137 votes. His opponent, Dawn Carter, received 54.

Fernald said there were several people who received one write in vote each to represent the town on the Regional School Unit 24 (RSU 24) Board.

“It is likely the selectmen will search for a replacement and appoint someone,” Fernald said of the RSU 24 position.

Second Selectman Jeff Albee has been functioning as the sole selectmen since Ian Staub and Shane Wallace resigned Aug. 10.

Town Administrator Sharon Perry also resigned. Joanne Lepley is serving as acting town administrator.

For more community news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.



Jacqueline Weaver

Jacqueline Weaver

Reporter at The Ellsworth American
Jacqueline's beat covers the eastern Hancock County towns of Lamoine through Gouldsboro as well as Steuben in Washington County. She was a reporter for the New York Times, United Press International and Reuters before moving to Maine. She also publicized medical research at Yale School of Medicine and scientific findings at Yale University for nine years.[email protected]
Jacqueline Weaver

Latest posts by Jacqueline Weaver (see all)