Student notes

Maine Seacoast Mission has selected six students from Washington and Hancock counties to join the Davis Maine Scholarship program.

The group includes Marissa Colby of Franklin (Sumner Memorial High School), Joseph Dougherty of Jonesport (Jonesport-Beals High School), Laney Oliver of Addison (Narraguagus High School), Austin Rusecky of Addison (Narraguagus High School), Antonio Vizcarrondo of Eastport (Shead High School) and Tori Webber of Sullivan (Sumner Memorial High School).

Through a partnership with Andrew Davis and the Shelby Cullom Davis Charitable Fund, the Davis Maine Scholarship ensures that Downeast first-generation college-bound students can complete a four-year undergraduate degree without financial burden. This is the second group of Downeast students to receive the scholarship; the first group began their college studies in August.

Coupled with high expectations for high school excellence and college persistence and completion, Davis Maine Scholars receive consistent mentoring and support and a full, four-year scholarship at one of three partner colleges: Clark University (Massachusetts), the University of New England (Maine) and Wheaton College (Massachusetts). Partner colleges were selected in part based on their demonstrated commitment to supporting first-generation students including those from rural communities.

Julia Rush of Trenton was named to the 2022 spring semester dean’s list at Simmons University in Boston.

To qualify for dean’s list status, undergraduate students must obtain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher, based on 12 or more credit hours of work in classes using the letter grade system.

Timothy Worrell of Bucksport, Margaret Coyle of Holden, Ebony Hall of Lamoine and Stephanie Turner of Deer Isle were named to the summer 2022 president’s list at Southern New Hampshire University in Manchester, N.H. The summer terms run from May to August.

Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.700 and above for the reporting term are named to the president’s list.

Also, Lance Rush of Franklin and Julia Zavaleta of Hancock were named to the university’s summer 2022 dean’s list. Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.500 to 3.699 for the reporting term are named to the dean’s list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.