Two New Councilors Elected in Bucksport

BUCKSPORT — Residents Tuesday elected Glenn S. Findlay, who had 1,045 votes, to one of the three-year terms on the Town Council. Findlay beat out incumbent Byron Vinton III, who had 1,003 votes, a margin of 42.

In the races for two other seats, also three-year terms, residents elected former Councilor Brian C. Leeman and re-elected David W. Kee.

Also up for grabs was a two-year term council seat, which Frank M. Dunbar ran for unopposed. He was elected by 1,994 votes. Dunbar, a native of Bucksport, could be sworn in as early as the next council meeting tonight (Nov. 8), because he is taking over the remainder of the term that Jeff Robinson Sr. was serving before he died.

The other three election winners will have to wait until the first council meeting in January 2013 to be sworn in.

In the race for a seat on the Regional School Unit 25 School Committee, write-in candidate Jennifer Tyne was the winner. Tracy Young, who was originally supposed to have been on the ballot, withdrew her candidacy before the election. Tyne will serve a three-year term.

Also on the ballot was a question of whether the town would get a new fire truck. Residents approved the purchase by a vote of 1,761 to 577.

For more political news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.

Amanda Greenberg

Former Ellsworth American reporter Amanda Greenberg joined the staff in October 2012 after graduating from the University of Maine in Orono. Originally from Toronto, Ontario, Amanda moved to Maine when she was nine.