Local legislators receive committee assignments

ELLSWORTH — House Speaker Sara Gideon (D-Freeport) has appointed Hancock County’s state representatives to policy committees for the 129th Legislature.

Rep. Nicole Grohoski (D-Ellsworth) will serve on the Legislature’s Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee. Her district includes Ellsworth and Trenton.

“This legislative session offers an opportunity to make incredible gains for Maine people,” Grohoski said. “I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee to expand affordable and accessible renewable energy and broadband technology for Mainers of every ZIP code and economic background. Increasing our energy independence and access to high-speed internet will strengthen our economy.”

Rep. Brian Hubbell (D-Bar Harbor) will serve on the Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee and Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee. His district includes Bar Harbor, Lamoine and Mount Desert.

Rep. Genevieve McDonald (D-Stonington) will serve on the Legislature’s Marine Resources Committee. Her district includes the Cranberry Isles, Deer Isle, Frenchboro, Isle au Haut, North Haven, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Swan’s Island, Tremont, Vinalhaven and Marshall Island Township.

Rep. Sarah Pebworth (D-Blue Hill) will serve on the Legislature’s State and Local Government Committee. Her district includes Blue Hill, Brooklin, Brooksville, Castine, Sedgwick and Surry.

Grohoski, McDonald and Pebworth are serving their first terms in the Maine House. Hubbell is serving his fourth term. He previously served on the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee.

A complete list of legislative committees and their newly appointed members can be found at http://legislature.maine.gov/house/house/Committees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *