Langley running for fourth term in Senate

Sen. Brian Langley

Sen. Brian Langley

ELLSWORTH — Sen. Brian Langley (R-Hancock County) has announced that he will seek a fourth term in the Maine Senate representing District 7.

On March 8, he turned in more than the required number of signatures to officially appear on the ballot.

“I am grateful to my friends and neighbors who continue to put their trust in me to represent their interests in Augusta,” Langley said. “For the next few months, my focus will continue to be on doing the work I was elected to do in Augusta, but once campaign season hits I look forward to discussing my legislative record and visiting communities throughout Hancock County to meet with people and hear what they are thinking.”

A graduate of the University of Southern Maine and Syracuse University, Langley is an entrepreneur, chef and educator. For nearly three decades he taught culinary arts at Hancock County Technical Center. He is now a small business owner, operating the Union River Lobster Pot restaurant in Ellsworth. Langley and his wife, Jane, have two grown children, David and Sarah.

During Langley’s time in the Legislature, he has served on the Taxation Committee, the Marine Resources Committee and the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee. He has twice served as chairman of the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee.

Langley led the bipartisan effort to create the state’s Bridge Year Program, which helps students begin to earn college credit during their high school years, cutting down on their college costs. He also worked to ensure that bridge year students under the age of 18 would be eligible for the Competitive Skills Scholarship, helping low-income students gain access to the program.

In addition to serving on the Legislature’s Marine Resources Committee, Langley is also a member of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, collaborating with other states to conserve and manage fisheries.

Senate District 7 consists of Amherst, Aurora, Bar Harbor, Blue Hill, Brooklin, Brooksville, Central Hancock Unorganized Territory, part of East Hancock Unorganized Territory, Cranberry Isles, Deer Isle, Eastbrook, Ellsworth, Franklin, Frenchboro, Hancock, Lamoine, Mariaville, Marshall Island Township, Mount Desert, Osborn, Otis, Sedgwick, Sorrento, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Surry, Swan’s Island, Tremont, Trenton and Waltham.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *