Harmon and Mitchell win selectmen’s race in Gouldsboro

GOULDSBORO — Robert Harmon and Danny Mitchell Jr. were expected to be sworn in Wednesday, June 9, as the town’s two newly elected selectmen following Tuesday’s elections. The two garnered 159 and 217 votes, respectively, in a field of five candidates vying for two three-year term seats. A total of 714 votes were cast.

At the polls, which were open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m., the other selectman candidates, Deborah Bisson, Johnathan Renwick and incumbent Chris Urquhart, received 97, 137 and 104 votes, respectively. Incumbent Cheri Robinson’s three-year term has expired, but she chose not to run for re-election.

In another race, Susan Dickson Smith won with 205 votes while Sara Liscomb received 171 votes for a three-year seat on the Regional School Unit 24 (RSU 24) Board. The position was vacated by Alison Johnson. Jay Higgins won his unopposed re-election bid for another three-year term on the Planning Board. 

Gouldsboro’s annual Town Meeting was scheduled to convene at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 9, at the Gouldsboro Rec Center on the Pond Road (Route 195).

Letitia Baldwin

Arts Editor at The Ellsworth American
In addition to editing the Arts & Leisure section, Letitia edits special sections including Out & About, Overview, Health Quarterly, Your Maine Home, House & Garden and Get Ready for Winter. She comes from Chicago, Ill, but has deep family ties to the Cranberry Isles. [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.