Fleet sees busy season

SOUTHWEST HARBOR — Members and officers of the Southwest Harbor Fleet gathered at the home of Ginny and Tom Rolfes Aug. 26 to present awards for its August series races and elect officers for the coming year.

“We had great weather and no cancellations,” Commodore Ken Brookes said. Cancelling races due to fog or extreme weather, he said, “is a big feature of sailboat racing sometimes.”

Getting younger sailors involved in racing has been a goal of all the sailing clubs and schools, so officers were pleased to present awards to four teenagers in the juniors division for 420 racing. Skye Ehrhart and Mary Overton took first place and Alec Fisichella and Ann Overton were runners up.

The Bullseye and Tempest classes don’t have very many boats, but enjoy being out racing and have an important place in the history of the club.

The Tyssowski Trophy for Bullseyes went to Tony Smith sailing Isabel. Second place was Laurie Towers in White Knuckles. Ken Fox was this year’s winner of the John and Polly Fox Memorial Trophy for Tempests, sailing his Ariel. Jack Kelley and Irrational Number came in second.

The majority of club members sail Luders in Friday and Sunday races throughout the summer. In August, as many as 16 Luders were on the line on any given day.

The John W. Danforth Trophy for Luders races went to Ned Johnston and Domino. Bill Knowlton sailing Fiona was runner up, and Art Paine was third with Ludicrous. The Homer Cup is for singlehanded Luders racing. It also went to Johnson. Second place went to Jim Fernald sailing Sea Bee.

The Sturgis Haskins Memorial Trophy is based on the five summer pursuit races: Reath, Morris Regatta, Seal Harbor Regatta, Hayward Cup and Long Gone Challenge. The winner must have sailed in three of these. The Southwest Harbor Fleet had 13 participants this year.

The winner of the trophy, Art Paine, sailed in all five races. Wells Bacon in

Mary Jane was runner up. Poncho Cole was third with Etude and Scott Hirsch was fourth with Batty.

Fleet members voted on the slate of officers for the 2015 summer racing season: Commodore Ken Brookes, Vice Commodore Tom Rolfes, Treasurer Steve Homer, Secretary Ken Fox and Fifth Director Jim Fernald.

Fleet races continue on Saturdays until Columbus Day weekend. For more information, contact Ken Brookes, 244-5187.

Liz Graves

Liz Graves

Reporter at Mount Desert Islander
Former Islander reporter and editor Liz Graves grew up in California and came to Maine as a schooner sailor.
Liz Graves

Latest posts by Liz Graves (see all)