Student Notes

Six Hancock County high school students have been named Mitchell Scholars for 2011.

The scholarships, named for former Maine Sen. George J. Mitchell, were increased from $5,000 to $6,000 this year.

Local recipients include Ryan Bailey of Bucksport High School; Sarah Eaton of Deer Isle-Stonington High School; Nicholas Richie of Ellsworth High School; Sabrina Vivian of George Stevens Academy; Grace Robbins of Mount Desert Island High School and Benjamin Holmes of Sumner Memorial High School.

The scholarships are presented by the Sen. George J. Mitchell Scholarship Research Institute.

For more education news, pick up a copy of The Ellsworth American.

Fenceviewer Staff

Latest posts by Fenceviewer Staff (see all)