Mission Awards $100,000 in Scholarships

BAR HARBOR — Scott Planting, executive director of the Maine Sea Coast Mission, announced that the mission is “continuing its long tradition of investing in the future of Maine” by awarding college scholarships to deserving students who show academic promise and have financial need. He reported that the mission awarded 113 scholarships of $1,000 each to students from coastal and island communities in Downeast Maine recently.

The scholarships are renewable for all four years of college as long as the student remains in good standing at his or her college. This year, 61 of the scholarships went to students who are continuing their educations. While 85 of the 113 scholarship winners will attend colleges in Maine, this year’s scholarship recipients will be attending 40 different colleges and universities throughout the United States.

More than 175 students and family members attended this year’s Mission Scholars Picnic at the Colket Center in Bar Harbor. The guest speaker was Judy Magliane who was a scholarship recipient in 2002 and 2003. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts in mathematics and is employed by Kellogg’s as a district manager in South Carolina. She spoke about the important role that the scholarship played in helping her complete college and obtain a good job where she is excelling. She advised the students to: “Get up and get moving because today can be the turning point.”  She also told the students to “always keep moving forward and don’t let setbacks become your identity.”

Members of the board of directors of the Maine Sea Coast Mission provided each student attending the picnic with a scholarship check.

The recipients of Maine Sea Coast Mission scholarships for the 2011/2012 school year are:

Mount Desert Island High School

  • Keith Bailey, Jr., Elliot Klaver, Liam King, Jamie McKay, Matthew Harkins, Kayla Herbert, Makenzie Tibbetts, Megan Dow, Courtney Sullivan
  • Continuing Scholarships: Kayla Orman, Gordon Lyman, Christina McKay, Heather Spurling, Emma Damon, Mollie Strout, Kymry Brooks, Daniel Closson, Gretchen Blank, Frances Blank, Ariel Bothen, Heather Hibbard, Elizabeth Sargent, Brooke Swanson, Joseph Swanson, Jessica  Swanson

Bucksport High School

  • Samantha Klyce, Jennifer Murphy, Lucy Webster, Jared Young
  • Continuing Scholarship: Daniel Burpee, Natasha Nutall

Deer Isle Stonington High School

  • Ian Pelletier, Jocelyn Dolbow, Dylan Siebert
  • Continuing Scholarship: Stormi Hardy, Kimberly Grindle, Nick Barter

Ellsworth High School

  • Danielle Cyr, Harlee Webber, Ridge Jordan, Sara Lyons, Hayley White
  • Continuing Scholarships: Leif Jacobsen, Morgan Clement, Katherine Lyons, Natasha Manning, Katelyn Tracy, Jennifer Tupper

Georges Valley High School

  • Continuing Scholarship: Stephanie Littlehale, Kindle Loomis


  • Gerard Scherr, Jason Hatch

Jonesport Beals High School

  • Katie Todd, Brandee Beal, Jessica MacLean, Katelyn Alley, D’Mitri Monroe, Meagan Alley, Paiden Carver, Sarah Milliken, Zachary Smith
  • Continuing Scholarship: BreAnna Beal, Vanessa MacLean-Barton, Whitney Norton

Narraguagus High School

  • Tamara Lenfesty, Brittany Burke, Celeste Risbridger, Donna Dalangauskas, Meghan Hatt, Taylor Ramsey, Daniel Nash
  • Continuing Scholarships: Danielle Eaton, Cassandra Fickett, Erin Brooks, Catherine Charczuk, Eric Brooks, Kristie Campbell, Hayley Foresman, Harry Thompson, Hannah Hudson, Leticia Perez-Zamora, Drew Ramsey, Natasha Boada, Kristen Burke, Anna VanDam, Summer Torrey, Lauren Merritt

Shead High School

  • Megan Patterson, Keith Turner, Jr., Patricia Johnson, Allison Young
  • Continuing Scholarships: Dorothy Pottle, Megean Poole, Samantha Denbow-Seeley, Jordan Perry

Sumner High School

  • Darrian Chruch, Nicklaus Carter, Sarah Frost, Jalisa Patten, Brianna West
  • Continuing Scholarships: Brenn Alexander, Jessica Stover

Washington Academy

  • Continuing Scholarship: Kayla Anthony, Lacie Craven, Katherine Alley, Rachel Brady, Holly Kocinicki


  • Tiffany Peterson, Martha Jones, James Martin,
  • Continuing Scholarships: Nicole Boggs, Tiffany Peterson, Edward Flaherty

Other Scholarships

  • Andrea Hartford, James Gray, Andrew Young, Sarai Johnson

For more education news, pick up a copy of the Mount Desert Islander.

Fenceviewer Staff

Latest posts by Fenceviewer Staff (see all)