STONINGTON — On June 19, 1939, Maine Governor Lewis O. Barrows cut the ribbon to open the long-awaited and hard fought for Deer Isle-Sedgwick Bridge.
On Saturday, June 21, the island community and those on the Blue Hill Peninsula side of the bridge will gather at the new Bridge End Park, at the foot of the bridge on Deer Isle, to celebrate the bridge’s 75th anniversary.
The schedule for the day includes the bridge closure from 10 to 11 a.m. for a bridge walk, allowing people to experience the bridge and its views on foot.
At 11 a.m., the bridge will be rededicated at a ceremony and the official opening of the new Bridge End Park will take place.
At 11:30, there will be a lobster/clam bake sponsored by the Deer Isle-Stonington Chamber of Commerce.
From 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., there will be live music, food, boat rides, family activities and information booths.
Further details regarding parking, shuttles, etc. will be made available in early June.
The June 21 Community Celebration at the Bridge is one of three bridge 75th anniversary events planned for the next four months. The first is May 30 at 9:50 a.m. at the Reach Performing Arts Center, when Deer Isle-Stonington K-8 students will demonstrate the performances, artwork and videos they have created about the bridge as part of Opera House Arts’ yearlong visiting artists at the school.
The final celebration will be the world premiere of OHA’s new “popera,” “The Last Ferryman,” Aug. 14-24, with music and lyrics by Paul Sullivan and book by Linda Britt, all based on historical research and oral histories from island residents about the bridge.
For additional information about OHA’s The Bridge Project, contact Opera House Arts at [email protected] or 367-2788.