A sugar rush is coming! Willy Wonka and company taking stage later this month

ELLSWORTH The universally loved book “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” will spring to life in the musical adaption, “Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka,” being performed at 7 p.m. Friday-Saturday, Sept. 30-Oct. 1 and Oct. 7-8 and Oct. 14-16. Matinees will be performed at 2 p.m. Sundays, Oct. 2, 9 and 16, and the public can attend a dress rehearsal on Thursday, Sept. 29, at The Grand.

Sponsored by First National Bank, the musical opens with the enigmatic candy manufacturer, Willy Wonka, hiding golden tickets in five of his scrumptious candy bars. The contest’s winner gets a free tour of the Wonka factory, as well as a lifetime supply of candy. Four of the five winning children are insufferable brats. The fifth is a likeable young lad named Charlie Bucket, who takes the tour in the company of his equally amiable grandfather. The children must learn to follow Mr. Wonka’s rules in the factory … or suffer the consequences.

The production’s 46-member cast is directed by Ashley Terwilliger. Music director is David Sheehy. The Sept. 29 dress rehearsal is “Pay What You Wish.” Otherwise, tickets cost $25 per adult and senior, $22 for Grand members and $18 for students 17 and under. With such a large cast, who play which character will be of interest to many.

Cast List

Willy Wonka: Benjamin Chandler

Candy Man: Matthew McDonald

Phineous Trout: Chris Madigan

Charlie Bucket: Keenan Beal

Mrs. Bucket: Anna Hanson

Mr. Bucket: Benjamin Carter

Grandpa Joe: Tim McCluskey

Grandma Josephine: Colleen Burton

Grandpa George: Jay White

Grandma Georgina: Kathy Stanley

Augustus Gloop: Gage Pileggi

Augustus Gloop: Caleb Leathers

Mrs. Gloop: Sarah Stanley

Veruca Salt: Megan Gerbi

Veruca Salt: Amelia Ashmore

Mr. Salt: John Hamer

Mike Teavee: Gavin Uphouse

Mike Teavee: Finn Monahan

Ms. Teavee: Stephanie Bradshaw

Violet Beuregarde: Heather Brenner-Simpson

Violet Beuregarde: Noelle Hanson

Mrs. Beuregarde: Stephanie Clement

Oompa Loompas

Isla Uphouse, Lena Pazereckas, Ben Pazereckas, Eve Hanson, Qohl Hanson, Paxton Bradshaw, Malachai Bradshaw, Lucy Ashmore, Jordan Gerbi, Lucia DiLena, Vivi DiLena, Filippa DiLena, Kameron Beal, Piper Leighton, Isabella Ipe, Sadie Monahan, Juniper Franke and Braedyn Sargent


Amelia Donahue, Molly Dority, Anna Pazereckas, Emily Young, Clementine Mislang, Nayeli Monahan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.