About Hancock County

Did You Know?

Hancock County is named for John Hancock, the first governor of the state of Massachusetts. The county was incorporated in 1789 and encompasses 1,522 square miles.

Hancock County is made up of the city of Ellsworth, 36 towns, 14 unorganized territories and 21 islands classed as wild lands.