Low turnout in Bar Harbor election

BAR HARBOR — Town councilors David Bowden and Paul Paradis were reelected Tuesday in uncontested races in an election marked by one of the lowest voter turnouts in recent memory.

Members of the Conners Emerson School committee and the Mount Desert Island Regional School District (MDIRSS) board of trustees also were chosen by voters, also in uncontested races.

Bowden and Paradis will serve three-year terms on the town council, after receiving 127 votes each. Just 171 voters turned out for the election, representing 4 percent of the town’s 4,163 registered voters.

The Conners Emerson Superintending School Committee will gain two new members following Tuesday’s election. Christopher James was elected by 130 votes. Write-in candidate Kristina Losquadro received 50 votes. Both will serve three-year terms.

Robert Webber was reelected to a three-year term on the MDIRSS board of trustees by 140 votes.

Find in-depth coverage of local news in the Mount Desert Islander. Subscribe digitally or in print.